Go Back   Back Country Rebels - Forums > REBELS WITH A WRENCH > BRAND SPECIFIC TECH / DISCUSSION > YAMAHA

Old 11-14-2013, 09:04 AM

LostIn207 Has earned a rub and tug from ARLostIn207 Has earned a rub and tug from ARLostIn207 Has earned a rub and tug from ARLostIn207 Has earned a rub and tug from ARLostIn207 Has earned a rub and tug from AR
Default 1984 Yamaha SS440 revival help

I picked up an 84 ss440 this summer, cowling and track are in good shape but it needed to be cleaned up and have the primary rebuilt/replaced. I've been doing as much reading as I can on these sleds for several months and from what I've come up with, I plan to replace the keihin butterfly carb with a round slide mikuni. I read the performance two stroke tuning book that was recommended on here and from what I gathered from that, I may see better results by buying a 36mm and bore it to the largest diameter bore possible without exceeding the diameter of the slide. I've pulled the fuel tank and cleaned it, replaced the in tank pickup filter, am going to use a torch and "bake" the exhuast as best I can to try to get the 30 year old gunk out. Id like to do some polishing on the intake manifold aswell. I've already got a studded 121" track and am going to swap in an xtra 10 I've already got. I'm considering deleting the oil injection as well just to keep things simple. My main question is this:

To put a P85 primary from a polaris on this, I believe the taper on the crank is the same. But how will this work with the stock secondary that's on the SS? Would it be best to find a P85 off a mid 90's 440 so that the weights and spring are setup relatively close to the power of the SS and weren't designed to work with a roller secondary?

What else would you yamaha guys recommend on these little fanners? I'm not looking to build a drag sled out of this, just wake it up a bit for a fun change up from the newer sleds. Thanks in advance!
Attached Images
File Type: jpg image.jpg (51.4 KB, 61 views)