Go Back   Back Country Rebels - Forums > REBELS WITH A WRENCH > BRAND SPECIFIC TECH / DISCUSSION > SKI DOO

Old 12-07-2009, 12:16 PM
REBEL

knightkrawler00 Has earned a reach around from Rebel
Default '08 XP 800R engine knock.

Went for the first ride yesterday, temps about -5 degrees farenheight. Sled is a Summit X with just shy of 1000 miles on it. About 20 miles into the ride I came to a stop and heard a knock from the front of the sled, not consistent and not real loud, RPM was hanging at 3200. Ran the sled another mile down the trail, hard, and stopped again. Knock was noticeably louder and more consistent. I can hear it real well on PTO side, can not hear it while moving. Babied it back to the truck and brought it home. I couldn't get it to make noise after it was home. Research turned up quite a few people that have primary clutches knocking at that RPM. I'm a master ASE tech, but don't have much experience on 2-strokes. If it were a car making this noise, I'd be thinking wrist pin or rod bearings. Is there any way to isolate this noise further before tearing it down?

Brought to you by the Second Amendment.
Old 12-08-2009, 11:03 AM
REBEL

montanasledhead Has earned a rub and tug from ARmontanasledhead Has earned a rub and tug from ARmontanasledhead Has earned a rub and tug from AR
montanasledhead Has earned a rub and tug from ARmontanasledhead Has earned a rub and tug from AR

check run out on crank that will tell you if your crank is the culprit
sounds like you had a main not getting lube did you run it before while it was above freezing
had a buddy who went right out first ride of year and it was below zero
condensation in oil line from summer sitting froze and oil didnt get to pto side bearing
just what the dealer said if you trust them
Old 12-09-2009, 10:20 PM
REBEL

I won't have the chance to look into it further until this weekend. It didn't get run more than on and off the trailer a couple of times over the summer.

Old 12-12-2009, 01:25 PM
REBEL