Go Back   Back Country Rebels - Forums > THE TRENCH > RIDING AREAS - USA > MINNESOTA

Old 08-06-2012, 07:57 AM
REBEL

Snowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLP
Snowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLP
Default Float plane flips on water landing; far end of 'my lake.'

Happened Sunday afternoon. I didn't hear about it until early evening. This lake is 6,000 acres, and in 3-large sections, and 10 miles end-to-end.
One of the comments noted was the land wheels were down and should have been retracted. (Click on pics.)
Is this so? I'm not an expert.
http://brainerddispatch.com/news/201...orth-long-lake

This accident happened in the large mid-section about 5 miles across.
I'm on the northern section, about 1.25 mi by 1.5 mi.bordering Co.Rd. #3.
(SW bay borders hwy 371.)
Old 08-06-2012, 12:40 PM
REBEL

Snowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLP
Snowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLPSnowizard Offical PLP

Pics of recovered float plane.
The dunked plane is a kit, called a "Carbon Cub." Looks like a very nice craft.
Right now it is parked by my neighbors hangar. (Not his plane) It was a handy place to get it off the lake.

I walked down there this morning, and 2 FAA inspectors and 2 deputies were there.
The plane appears to have no physical damage to the air frame, but Im sure the electronics and instruments will be ruined.
They had the engine running already.

The cause was due to the wheels down, and drag in the water flipped the plane.
Oof-da. Costly mistake.
[IMG][/IMG]

[IMG][/IMG]
Old 08-07-2012, 05:57 PM
Just Got Here